What Does Mute Mean On Instagram ?

Instagram the social networking app developed and owned by Facebook is a photo and video-sharing app. The Android version of the app was launched in April 2012 while the desktop interface of the app was launched in November 2012 though with limited features. The app has a number of features like stories that last for 24 hours,  uploading photos and videos that can be edited with filters and hashtags. The app also lets the users browse other users’ content with the help of hashtags and geographical tags and watch reels. The reels are a facility that was introduced by Instagram recently in 2020. But despite being launched just now this feature is one of the most coveted features on Instagram. Instagram is one of the very few apps that gained popularity very quickly that since its launch, has taken the world by storm. The developers of the app when developing the app kept the privacy security of the users as their top priority and as such developed a number of features facilitating this.  One of these is Mute feature. Many have been asking what does mute mean on Instagram. Mute on instagram basically means controlling what post you see and whose message notification you will receive. This was a feature that was very much appreciated because people could now keep their Instagram free from distractions and unwanted posts. 

What Does Mute Messages On Instagram Mean ?

The Mute feature on Instagram has a number of subdivisions wherein you can Mute the message of a person or mute the post of a person or even mute the video chats of a person. Mute Messages On Instagram would mean that you can message notifications you will receive on receiving a message from a particular person. Muting message only mutes the notification and you can still find the messages in your inbox. 

What Does It Mean To Mute Messages On Instagram? To Mute messages on Instagram would mean that you are stopping the notifications that you receive on receiving their messages. This will enable you to concentrate on your work and not be distracted. Further this is also a method that you can resort to when you do not want to be disturbed by a particular person who is constantly sending you messages. But muting messages does not stop the messages from being received and they can still be found piled in your Inbox.

What Does It Mean To Mute Someone On Instagram?

Instagram does not restrict with just the option of muting messages, you can also mute someone on instagram especially their posts. This will help you control what is shown on your feed and all unwanted and distracting content can be muted by muting someone’s posts. By muting posts you can keep your Instagram clean and free of chaos and confusion. Only posts that you want to be shown will be there on the feed. 

How Do You Mute Someone On Instagram?

One of the questions that is frequently asked by Instagram users is how to mute someone on Instagram. There are a few ways in which this can be achieved. To mute someone you can follow either of the methods given below

  • Launch Instagram 

  • Tap on the menu button on the post indicated by three dots at the top corner of the post 

  • Now click on Mute 

  • You will be given two options mute posts, or mute posts and stories

  • Select the option you want 

Or you can also follow the below steps which is an alternative to mute someone

  •  Continuously press the story you want to mute 

  • You will be given the option of Mute 

  • Now click on Mute 

  • You will be given two options mute posts, or mute posts and stories

  • Select the option you want 

You can also mute someone by going to their profile by clicking on their name. Again here you need to select the menu option indicated by three dots and select mute and the option you desire.

How To Mute Messages On Instagram?

As stated earlier Instagram not just lets you mute your profile and post you can also mute the messages of an individual. Follow the steps given below to Mute Messages On Instagram

  • Open the Instagram app on your phone 

  • open your Inbox by tapping  on the arrow icon which can be found at the top-right corner 

  • Now select the conversation you want to mute 

  • Now you can either continuously hold the chat which will bring the option of Mute

  • Or you can tap on the person’s name at the top

  • In both the cases you  get two options – Mute Video Chats and Mute Messages

  • Select the option that you want to choose. 

What Does Restrict Mean On Instagram?

Restrict is yet another feature that Instagram offers to take privacy of the user to the next step. Restrict is a feature that decides who sees your messages and posts on instagram and who sees the comment on your posts. 

What Does It Mean To Restrict Someone On Instagram? To restrict someone your instagram would mean that other users would no longer be able to see when you’re online and if you have read their messages. This feature also helps you decide whether a comment on your post can be seen by all or only by that person. You will be able to see the comment only after you select on See comment and if you want others to be able to see the comment, you need to select Approve.

How To Restrict Someone On Instagram?

There are a number of ways to restrict someone on Instagram. You can restrict through their message, through their comment via settings and their profile. Given below are the steps for each of these ways.  

Restrict Someone On Instagram Through Message

  • Open the Instagram app

  • Open your Inbox by tapping  on the arrow icon which can be found at the top-right corner 

  • Now select the chat with the person you want to restrict.

  • You can now either continuously hold the chat which will bring the option of restrict 

  • Or select the person’s name at the top right of your chat.

  • And select Restrict which you find at the bottom.

  • Open the Instagram app

  • Go to the post where you want to restrict the comment

  • Now select View all comments.

  • Now you can either swipe left over the comment if you are using an iPhone or press and hold the comment if you are using Android

  • In case of an iPhone, tap the chta cloud with exclamation mark 

  • The same icon can be found in Android as well though on Android the symbol will be blue in colour 

  • Now select Restrict 

Restrict Someone On Instagram Through Settings

  • Open Instagram app

  • Now open your profile 

  • Select Menu in the top right indicated by three dots

  • Now select Settings and then Privacy.

  • Here you will find the Restricted Accounts.

  • Select continue and Search for the account you’d like to restrict and select Restrict option

Restrict Someone On Instagram Through Their Profile

  • Open Instagram app

  • Go to the profile of the person you want to restrict 

  • Select the menu button indicated by three horizontal dots in iPhone and three vertical dots in Android

  • Now Select Restrict and Restrict Account  

Disclaimer: The above information is for general informational purposes only. All information on the Site is provided in good faith, however we make no representation or warranty of any kind, express or implied, regarding the accuracy, adequacy, validity, reliability, availability or completeness of any information on the Site.